top of page


Updated on 30 June 2020

The Situation:

The European Union approved a list of 15 countries permitted to the enter the EU on the basis of their current COVID-19 situation.

As of 1 July, citizens of Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay, will be permitted to enter Europe. China is also on the list, but only on the condition of reciprocal action by the Chinese authorities.

The UK and four other non-EU states - Switzerland, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway - are automatically included as "safe".

Travelers from these countries must first confirm with the EU country they wish to visit, as individual Member States are permitted to exclude countries from the EU’s list. The EU’s travel ban exempts some travelers with “an essential function or need.” Confirm with individual EU Member States for specific exemptions.

The EU will reevaluate the list of countries every two weeks. Countries will be added or removed based on their current COVID-19 situation.

Re-open EU, developed by the European Commission, provides reopening measures and restrictions for EU member states. Offers links to official country COVID-19 webpages.

Mitigating Factors to Apply:

  • Contact your local embassy in the country you plan to visit to ensure the essential nature of your trip and any other applicable restrictions and measures

  • Visit your Embassy and your destination’s government website for more information

    • Look for exemptions to entry restrictions, quarantines and testing

    • Check to see if a COVID-19 test is required for entry including the type of test and  the date the test must be conducted prior to entry

    • Some countries may not permit re-entry within a 14-day period

    • Enroll in a Safe Traveler Program or other available alert system to receive notifications including restrictions which may affect your travel plans

  • Review local entry restrictions according to the province, state, and/or region you are visiting

  • Monitor local media for changes to internal and external travel restrictions

  • Create a backup plan as countries may impose lockdown measures with little to no notice

  • Ensure your accommodations, flight itinerary, and any required visas are valid prior to departure

  • Confirm airline policy requirements and recommendations in regard to check in and onboarding, as well as any up to date information on destination requirements.

    • Masks may be required while onboard the aircraft for the duration of the flight

    • Depending on your destination, testing may be required prior to departure and/or upon arrival

  • Carry documentation for your essential visit such as a letter from your employer and customer/supplier

    • Some countries require specific forms, check with your local Embassy for more information

  • Review re-entry restrictions for your home country 

DISCLAIMER and Hold Harmless

Disclaimer: LSDS™ gathers information from multiple sources and offers insight and perspective to travelers. Sources cannot be validated for accuracy in every instance. Travelers assume all risk associated with their travel and are responsible for the decisions associated with travel and for their own safety. Users of this reference document agree, to hold harmless LSDS™ (LLC) its employees and clients associated with any risk or injury incurred during travel.


bottom of page